Idea Pitch Competition
Taking Your Innovative Idea to the Next Level

gvsu idea pitch competition logo

The GVSU Idea Pitch Competition provides you 90 seconds to pitch your idea to a panel of West Michigan judges for a chance to win startup capital. Take your idea to the next level, make business connection, and win cash in 90 seconds! No props; no PowerPoints; just ideas. Are you ready to compete?

Registration for the 2013 competition will be announced in August. Registration is free to all undergraduate and graduate GVSU students of all majors.


Click Here to Register

Deadline to Register: October 14th

When: October 21st at 6:00p.m.

Where: Cook-DeWitt Auditorium, GVSU Allendale Campus

Registration Deadline: October 14th              Competition Date: October 21st

Congratulations to the 2012 Winners!

1st - $1000: Jason Sissing, Pop-Top

2nd - $750: Jacob Hall, Capable Solutions

3rd - $500: Tran Pham, Cultural Program

View Larger Map
2009 GVSU Idea Pitch Competition Winners

Why Compete?

GVSU Idea Pitch Competition will present students with an opportunity to pitch their business idea to a panel of West Michigan judges for a chance to advance to the Regional Idea Pitch Competition at Davenport University on November 3.

An "Idea Pitch" or "Elevator Pitch" is a frequently used term which we interpret as "tell me about your idea in the time it takes to ride up an elevator," i.e. 90 seconds. Presenting yourself effectively is an essential tool in the world of business, and a well-planned idea pitch can open doors in your future.

View the photo blog here. View a video of a past competition here.

View Pitches from the 2011 Rice University Competition here.

Previous Winners
2012 IPC Winners
  1. Jason Sissing, Pop-Top
  2. Jacob Hall, Capable Solution
  3. Tran Pham, Cultural Program
2011 IPC Winners
  1. Miles Smith, Break Away Coupling
  2. Sam Rasmussen, Designer Vents
2010 IPC Winners
  1. Frank Leonard, Keg Regulator
2009 IPC Winners
  1. Michael Henke & Michael McCarthy,
    Showerhead LED
  2. Ashley Van Roekel, Community Biking System
  3. Molly Gagnon, Spider Fighter

2008 IPC Winners
  1. Katie Racey, Formal Freedom, LLC
  2. Ben Demuro, The Tall Bike
  3. Chris Young & John Levandowski,
    At Your Service Valet
2007 IPC Winners
  1. Joel Soelberg, Clean Scrapper
  2. Matt Senko, Tattoo Software
  3. Joe Pohlen,
2006 IPC Winners
  1. Allison Morrow
  2. Geoff Patterson
  3. Thomas Sanders, Jr.
2005 IPC Winners
  1. Joe Pohlen
  2. Erik Winquist

< Register Here >

< Download the Official Guidelines >



Page last modified March 14, 2014