Grand Valley State University

Executive Committee of the Senate Minutes of April 19, 2013

Present: Yatin Bhagwat, Shawn Bultsma (for Wilson), Wendy Burns-Ardolino, Maria Cimitile (ex officio), Paul Cornish (for Pazdernik), Cary

Countryman, Gayle Davis (ex officio), Karen Gipson, Joe Godwin (ex officio), Cynthia Grapczynski, Bob Hendersen, John lott (Student Senate President), Brian Lakey, Sharon Leder, Nancy Levenburg, Figen Mekik (Chair), Douglas Montagna, Jag Nandigam, Tonya Parker

(Vice Chair), Lynn Sheehan, Joy Washburn, Deana Weibel

Guests: Azfar Hussain, Jeff Pottieger

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 pm and members introduced themselves

Agenda Items	Discussion	Action / Decisions
Approval of Agenda	The Agenda of April 19, 2013 was reviewed.	The agenda of April 19, 2013 was approved.
2. Approval of Minutes	The Minutes of April 12, 2013 were reviewed.	The Minutes of April 12, 2013 were approved.
3. Report from Chair	 a) The Chair thanked ECS for their support, hard work, and collegiality and identified the new members on ECS. b) The chair presented an update of agenda items including the upcoming Board of Trustees meeting, election of ECS/UAS Chair and Vice Chair, commencement, along with various memos she received in the last week and which curriculum proposals are still pending. 	
4. Report from Provost	a) Provost Davis reported that tentative enrollment numbers should be available around May 1. Provost Davis thanked Figen Mekik for her work as Chair.	
5. Report from Student Senate	a) Student Senate President lott reported that the new student senate met for the first time yesterday.	
6. New Business for ECS 2012-13	a) Joy Washburn presented an overview of the FTLCAC Memo on Student Evaluations that was distributed earlier. Discussion. Questions were raised from on what is being measured, and whether what is being measured meets the department needs, and if the measures can be used in multiple departments	
7. New Business for ECS 2013-14	a) The election for Chair 2013-14 was conducted with Karen Gipson elected by unanimous vote. The election for Vice Chair 2013-14 was conducted with Tonya Parker elected by majority vote.	
8. Adjournment	The meeting adjourned at 3:56pm	

04 19 13 ECS Minutes FINAL Approved on April 26, 2013

04 19 13 ECS Minutes FINAL Approved on April 26, 2013