FINAL REPORT 2014-2015 Academic Policy and Standards Committee

APSC received five charges from UAS/ECS in August 2014 and worked through April 2015 to address the issues involved in each. As a result of the hard work of the Committee members (listed below), the "Credit/No Credit" for Study Abroad charge was addressed with the involvement of the Padnos International Center, Graduate Council, the Provost's office, and the Registrar's office, along with the Committee's research in peer institutional practice. The APSC drafted a preliminary policy that would govern the prospect of students receiving a grade for work done through courses taken in Study Abroad in a non-GVSU institution. Acting upon the counsel of PIC and the Graduate Council the policy has remained in Committee until such time as more evidence can be gathered by PIC and Graduate Council concerning the projected number of students affected by the current practice and how they are being advised regarding graduate school admission grade requirements. The Committee also studied the academic procedures regarding active military personnel. Currently there are no policies governing the completion of academic course work in the event an individual is called into active duty and misses part of the academic semester. We worked closely with Stephen Lipnicki to determine that it is not necessary to draft a policy at this time, but to continue to use the procedure in place and together monitor its effectiveness as the number of active duty military students increases. We reviewed the policy of whether to assign academic credit for courses taken at non-accredited schools and unanimously agreed not to change the current policy of not accepting credit. We identified the source of our plagiarism statement as most likely to be from GVSU, though it could not be determined with certainty. We consider whether to maintain our current practice of meeting once a month and decided to maintain that practice.

Academic Policy and Standards Committee: Jamal Alsabbagh, College of Engineering and Computing; Cynthia Beel-Bates, College of Nursing; Mayra Fortes Gonzalez, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences; Nancy Giardina Provost's Office (ex officio); Barbara Harvey, University libraries; Naoki Kanaboshi, College of Community and Public Service; Lori Koste, Siedman College of Business; Michael Kurley, Graduate student representative; Kay Losey, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences; Karen Ozga, College of Health Professions; John Shinsky, College of Education; Brent Smith, chair of the committee, Brooks College of Interdisciplinary Studies; Robert Talbert College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Elizabeth Wheatly, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Lawrence Williams, Student Senate Representative.