Physical Education

Physical Education Current Students

PE Majors/Minors Listserv 

This will serve as the main method in which we share important information with you. Therefore it is essential that you register for the listserv.

From your GVSU email account you must send an Email to and in the body of the message type the following subscribe pemajors then send the message. If you have problems contact Dr. Johnson at 331-8873 or



According to the NASPE PETE Standards all physical education majors should be able to demonstrate the following:

Physical education teacher candidates are physically educated individuales with the knowledge and skills necessary to demonstrate competent movement performance and health enhancing fitness as delineated in the NASPE K-12 Standards.

Physical Education Majors (K-12 Emphasis) are REQUIRED to complete the Fitnessgram assessment EACH academic school year, even if you are Teacher Assisting or Student Teaching (so plan accordingly).  The HR components include aerobic fitness, flexibility, body composition, muscular strength and endurance. For more information on the Fitnessgram test you can visit

2015-2016 Fitnessgram

Tuesday, September 22
(During PED 306)
1:00-2:00 pm RC South Gym

Friday, October 23
(During PED 220)
10:00-10:50 am RC South Gym

Monday, November 30
(During PED 200)
3:00-4:00 pm RC South Gym

Monday, December 7
(During EDI 331)
2:30-3:30 pm RC South Gym

(Dr. Ingrid Johnson )

GVSU Physical Education Award Winners 2013-14


CJ Scholl                                                  Casey Withers

- MAHPERD Scholarship Winner        AMAHPERD Scholarship Winner

- MAHPERD Major of the Year             - AHPERD Major of the Year


 Lydia Brower

- MAHPERD Major of the Year




Page last modified August 11, 2015