Glenn A. Niemeyer
Provost 1980-2001


The Glenn A. Niemeyer Awards, named for the first Provost of Grand Valley State University, honor faculty and students who strive for excellence in all aspects of a well-rounded academic experience.

Faculty Awards Criteria

Faculty selected for the Niemeyer Award are honored for their excellence, enthusiasm and loyalty to teaching, scholarship and service.  Recipients possess a superior student-centered approach to teaching with continued development of excellence in the classroom that instills in their students a love of learning.  They create new knowledge and explore its applications through scholarly activity.  Recipients also contribute their expertise and service to the University, professional organizations, and/or the community.

Student Awards Criteria

Students selected for the Niemeyer Awards are well-rounded individuals with demonstrated excellence in both the classroom and extra-curricular activities.  Recipients excel in the classroom and demonstrate a joy of learning as part of a community of scholars.  Along with intellectual achievements, recipients participate in activities outside the classroom that serve to enrich their lives and the lives of others. 



Glenn A Niemeyer Awards Criteria

Nomination Form – Faculty Awards – Due November 1

Nomination Form – Student Awards – Due February 1

Page last modified August 26, 2015