Current Graduate Students

Delilah Clement

Delilah Clement
Advisor: Alan Steinman
Research: The importance of dissolved phosphorus in the Lake Macatawa watershed
delilahclement@gmail.com

Deb Dila

Deb Dila
Advisors: Bopi Biddanda and Ryan Thum
Research: Microbial diversity and community composition along a land-to-lake gradient
debdila@gmail.com

Travis Ellens

Travis Ellens
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: The role of mottled sculpin in stream food webs
travisellens@gmail.com

Leon Gereaux

Leon Gereaux
Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Earth's eyes: a time-series lake observatory for tracking ecosystem change
gereauxl@mail.gvsu.edu

Brandon Harris

Brandon Harris
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Lake sturgeon in the Muskegon River, Michigan
harribra@mail.gvsu.edu

Nicole Horne

Nicole Horne
Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Characterization of the structure and function of biofilm in the Biosand water filtration system
hornen@mail.gvsu.edu

Syndell Parks

Syndell Parks
Advisor: Jim McNair
Research: Evaluating the role of phytoene desaturase mutations in reduced fluridone sensitivity in watermilfoil
syndell.parks@gmail.com

Lindsey Schulte

Lindsey Schulte
Advisor:Jim McNair
Research: Herbicide resistance in hybrid watermilfoil
schullin@mail.gvsu.edu

Meagan McPherson

Meagan Sesselmann
Advisor: Jim McNair
Research: Estimating lake metabolism using the free water method and a 1-D hydrodynamic model
sesselmm@mail.gvsu.edu

John Skutnik

John Skutnik
Advisor: Kevin Strychar
Research: Identifying the effect of climate change on mesophotic scleractinian coral
skutnikj@mail.gvsu.edu

Michael Snider

Michael Snider
Advisor: Bopi Biddanda Research: Pigments and physiology of cyanobacterial mats that are analogs of early Earth
snidemic@mail.gvsu.edu

Sarah Stamann

Sarah Stamann
Advisor: Rick Rediske
Research: Population dynamics and toxin production in Gloeotrichia echinulata
stamanns@mail.gvsu.edu

Tony Weinke

Tony Weinke
Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Analysis of Muskegon Lake Buoy Observatory data for the relationship between wind mixing events and bottom water hypoxia
weinkea@mail.gvsu.edu

Jessica Wesolek

Jessica (Comben) Wesolek
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Genetic structure of yellow perch populations: drowned river mouths vs. Lake Michigan
jncomben@gmail.com

Graeme Zaparzynski

Graeme Zaparzynski
Advisor: Mark Luttenton
Research: The diet of brown trout in the Au Sable River
zaparzyg@mail.gvsu.edu