Bus Service - Holidays/Breaks

When classes are not in session the bus may be running on limited "Break Service". Break service includes two routes - route 85 for apartment loop, and route 50 between Allendale and Downtown Grand Rapids. Both pick up at Kirkhof Center on Allendale Campus, so be sure to check the sign outside for route info/name.
Listed below are dates that buses are NOT in service or are on Break Service Schedule (new Break Service Schedule coming soon!) (limited service). We frequently update this page with a list of dates surrounding upcoming breaks/holidays to let you know if the bus is running.

Route Schedule & Frequency:

Monday - Friday: 6:30a - 8:45p (hourly service)
Saturday - Sunday: "Break Service" often not available on weekends - please refer to listings by date (below)

NOTE: Transitions / Move-In Week in August the buses run on an extended break schedule

 

AUGUST SEMESTER BREAK GVSU BUS SERVICE HOURS:

  • Wednesday, 8/5/15 - Normal Spring/Summer 2015 Schedule
  • Thursday, 8/6/15 - Normal Spring/Summer 2015 Schedule
  • Friday, 8/7/15 - Normal Spring/Summer 2015 Schedule
  • Saturday, 8/8/15 - Sunday, 8/9/15 - No GVSU Service 
  • Monday, 8/10/15 - Friday, 8/14/15 - Break Schedule
  • Saturday, 8/15/15 - Sunday, 8/16/15 - No GVSU Service 
  • Monday, 8/17/15 - Friday, 8/21/15 - Break Schedule
  • Saturday, 8/22/15 - No GVSU Service 
  • Sunday, 8/23/15 - Transitions Break Service (11:30a-8p: #50 50min service; #85 25min svc)
  • Monday, 8/24/15 - Transitions Break Service (7a-6p: #50 20min svc, 6p-12a 30min svc; #85 25min svc)
  • Tuesday, 8/25/15 - Transitions Break Service (7a-6p: #50 20min svc, 6p-12a 30min svc; #85 25min svc)
  • Wednesday, 8/26/15 - Transitions Break Service (7a-6p: #50 20min svc, 6p-12a 30min svc; #85 25min svc)
  • Thursday, 8/27/15 - Transitions Break Service (7a-6p: #50 20min svc, 6p-12a 30min svc; #85 25min svc)
  • Friday, 8/28/15 - Transitions Break Service (7a-6p: #50 20min svc, 6p-1:30a 30min svc; #85 25min svc)
  • Saturday, 8/29/15 - Transitions Break Service (7:30a-1a: #50 30min svc; #85 25min svc)
  • Sunday, 8/30/15 - Transitions Break Service (11:30a-8p: #50 30min svc; #85 25min svc)
  • Monday, 8/31/15 - Normal Fall 2015 Schedule

LABOR DAY HOLIDAY GVSU BUS SERVICE HOURS:

  • Friday, 9/4/15 - Normal Fall 2015 Schedule
  • Saturday, 9/5/15 - Normal Fall 2015 Schedule
  • Sunday, 9/6/15 - Normal Fall 2015 Schedule
  • Monday,9/7/15 - No GVSU Service (University Closed)
  • Tuesday, 9/8/15 - Break Schedule (50/85 service will continue looping for Campus Life Night, with last departure from Kirkhof at 10:10p)
  • Wednesday, 9/9/15 - Resume Normal Fall 2015 Schedule

Which schedule do I refer to?

Fall / Winter Semesters (in general, first day of class to end of exam week, with exceptions below)

  • Dates of "Holidays/Break Service" to include:
    • Fall Semester:
      • Labor Day (no GVSU service)
      • Thanksgiving (no GVSU service)
      • December Semester Break (break/reduced GVSU service)
      • Christmas Eve through New Years Day (no GVSU service entire period)
      • Days prior to start of Winter Semester (break/reduced GVSU service)
    • Winter Semester:
      • Martin Luther King Jr Recess (break/reduced GVSU service - 10 min svc)
      • GVSU Spring Break (break/reduced GVSU service)
      • Semester Break prior to start of Spring Semester (break/reduced GVSU service)

Spring / Summer Semesters (in general, first day of class to end of exam week, with exceptions below)

  • Dates of "Holidays/Break Service" to include:
    • Spring Semester:
      • Memorial Day (no GVSU service)
    • Summer Semester:
      • Independence Day (no GVSU service)
      • Semester Break prior to start of Fall Semester (break/reduced GVSU service)
      • Transitions/Move-In (extended break service)

Route Information:

Transfer Opportunities:

  • Riders at Eberhard Center (Pew) stop should watch for bus coming from the North to go to Central Station (Eastbound) and the bus from the South will be on its way to Allendale Campus (Westbound).
  • At Meijer (at Lake Michigan Dr. and Wilson Ave.) you can transfer to #7 (West Leonard or #12 (West Fulton).

Featured Stops on this Route:

  • Pew Campus - Fulton St between Keller Engineering Labs and DeVos Center, various downtown Grand Rapids stops, GVSU Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences
  • Lake Michigan Dr. & Covall shopping plaza - Big Apple Bagel, Rite Aid, BC Pizza, Snap Fitness, and Bank of America
  • Lake Michigan Dr. & Collindale - Family Fare and Speedway
  • Bayberry Apartments
  • Walker Fire Station is a park & ride stop. You can park your car in the lot and hop on the bus here!
  • Lake Michigan Dr. & Wilson Meijer is another park & ride location. Shopping plaza features Meijer, Panera Bread, Jet's Pizza, Chowhound Pets, Fifth-Third Bank and more.
  • Allendale Campus bus stops at Mackinac Hall and the Kirkhof Center