

# 2024-2025 AP Committee Retreat Agenda Wednesday, August 14th, 11 am-1 pm, KC 2215/2216

2024-2025 AP Committee Rosters Meeting Slides

### Welcome

Justin Melick

### What is the AP Committee

- Justin Melick
  - Presentation of Meeting Slides

## <u>Introductions</u> (Name, Office, Role on AP Committee)

• See Role Call at the end of this report

## **Typical Year**

- Retreat in early August (All AP Committee Members)
  - Discussion: move this meeting to June or July while being sensitive to timing of elections
- Survey
  - o Historical Process: Issued in September, Results in Fall, Data to SLT In December
  - Discussion
    - Revising Process: propose issuing again in March or April and then leaving this as a Spring initiative moving forward
- AP Awards
  - Occurs in the Spring
  - o Discussion:
    - Spring 2024 had approximately 300 attendees
    - Merge awards with other campus stakeholders?
    - Last year's 3D succulent planters & succulents from GVSU greenhouse were well received
- AP Professional Development Social
  - o Discussion
    - Spring 2024 was in GR, 2025 will be in Allendale
- AP Forum
  - Occurs after the Winter Semester ends
  - Discussion
    - Was the new format in May 2024 well received? Did AP staff feel that they were better able to hear from SLT and vice versa?
    - Consider a Fall Forum?
    - Consider surveying AP staff to generate topics and questions in advance
- Elections
  - Occur in June for 3-year terms
- SLT guests at AP Executive Committee meetings

## Recap of Academic Year 2023 - 2024

- Surveys
  - Added demographic information and modified some language to align with campus climate surveys
- Professional Development Sessions: were appropriate to AP Staff needs & were well attended
  - Attendance: 40 50 attendees at each session
  - Microsoft Products
  - Public Speaking
- Memos: The following memos were issued
  - Compensation
  - o AP Survey Quantitative Data results
  - AP Survey Qualitative Data Executive Summary
  - AP Survey Summary of full results (used Chat GPT)
    - Discussion: breakdown the survey results by Division and compare
      Divisional results against the University's Climate Survey
  - MLK Commemoration Week Memo
  - o CFA
- President's Council Attendance
  - o AP Committee Chair & Vice Chair now attend President's Council

## **Open Discussion & Goals**

- Communication
  - Communication within
    - Represented Divisions/ Departments
      - Lists of new hires within Divisions/Departments sent to Committee members for initial reach-out?
    - AP Committee
    - University
  - Technology options
    - Zoom channels could work for group and subgroups Members representing IT can assist in the development of this
      - Create moderators
      - Some channels might be announcement only and others might be for communication
    - Laker Dock groups
    - Video or graphics
    - Electronic newsletters
    - Emails
    - Texts

- Flyers
- Newsletter
- Improving interaction rates
  - Focus on content and visual clarity
  - Email is coming back into style

## Community building

- O Community Engagement Taskforce:
  - Dan Vainner, Eric Bellmore, Johanna Swanson, Myesha Gholston, Jon Dean
- Events
  - Tournaments?
  - GVSU Cup battle of the Departments?
  - Leagues?
- o Informal social opportunities

#### Collaboration

o Listening session with Employee Ombud?

#### Governance

- o Subcommittee mid-term open positions with more than one nominee
  - Update Bylaws with clarifying procedure

## Memos

• Create a response process or other expectations around receiving a response from SLT (mirrored after UAS)?

## Professional Development

- o Subcommittee has placed resources on their site
- Use Workday Learning

# **Subcommittee Working Lunch**

# AP Executive Committee

Name	Group	Expiration Term
Kyle Barnhart	Central Admin/ Development/ I&E	2027
Cassonya Carter	CHS, KCON	2027
Jason Cronkite (Vice Chair)	CECI, PCE, College of Computing	2027
Myesha Gholston	Academic Affairs Student Support Units	2026
Jaime Guizor	Finace & Administration	2027
Michelle McCloud	BCOIS, CLAS	2026
Justin Melick	Information Technology	2027
(Chair)		
Bobby Nielsen	Student Affairs	2025
Michael Przydzial	Student Affairs	2025
Heather Taylor (Secretary)	Finance & Administration	2027
Daniel Vainner	Enrollment Development	2025
Jennifer Torreano	Library, SCB	2027
Mary Albrecht	Provist Office Liaison	
Tara Bivens	HR Liaison	

# Awards Subcommittee

Name	Group	Expiration Term
Eric Bellmore	Information Technology	2026
Erica Herwig	Finance & Administration	2025
Karen Ingle	Finance & Administration	2027
Dani Lauer	Student Affairs	2025
Kelly Senkowski	Information Technology	2026
Bri Slager	Student Affairs	2026
Pam Wells	Enrollment Development	2025
Vacant		

Member Present in-person

Member Present virtual

# **Professional Development Subcommittee**

Name	Group	Expiration Term
Mayra Amaro-Alvarez	Finance & Administration	2026
Trenton Beamon	AACECI, PCE, College of Computing	2025
Liz Chase	AA- Support Units	2026
Paul Cullen	Finance & Administration	2026
(Chair)		
Jeremy Paul	Student Affairs	2026
Benjamin Rhodes	Enrollment Development	2026
Hannah Schoenfeld	Enrollment Development	2025
Johanna Swanson	AA – CECI, PCE, College of Computing	2026
Steph Balaskas	Information Technology	2027
Natalie Trent	HR Liaison	

# Salary & Benefits Subcommittee

Name	Group	Expiration Term
Rachel Charno	Enrollment Development	2027
Chris Cirefice	AA – BCOIS, CLAS	2027
Matthew Collver	CHP, KCON	2026
Jon Dean (Chair)	Information Technology	2026
Joy Gianakura	AA- Library, SCB	2026
Katie Perschbacher	Student Affairs	2027
Travis Polash	Information Technology	2026
Meagan Treadway	Central Admin/ Dev/ I&#</td><td>2026</td></tr><tr><td>Tammi King</td><td>HR Liaison</td><td></td></tr><tr><td>Vacant</td><td></td><td></td></tr></tbody></table>	

# Social Justice Subcommittee

Name	Group	Expiration Term
Keigh-Cee Bell	AA – CLAS, BCOIS	2026
(Chair)		
Elyssa Durham	Enrollment Development	2026
Leda Evants	CHP, KCON	2025
DL McKinney	Student Affairs	2027
Susan Mendoza	AA – Support Units	2027
Rachel Salinas	AA – CECI, PCE, College of Computing	2026
Meaghann Smith	AA – Support Units	2025
Anna Tollefson	Student Affairs	2025
Melanie Rabine-Johnson	AA – CECI, PCE, College of Computing	2027
Kathleen VanderVeen	I&E Liaison	